Championship Show - 40th Anniversary Year

18th April 2010

Dog Judge: Tegwyn Jones

Bitch Judge:  USA Margaret Downey (Glen Coe)


back forth


Dogs – Linda Krukar (Dabney)
Bitches – Margaret Downey (Glen Coe)

It is the Welsh Dobermann Club's 40th Anniversary Year and as part of the celebrations two American Judges were appointed.  Mrs. Margaret Downey, the bitch judge, arrived on Thursday at Heathrow just before all the flights were cancelled. Unfortunately Mrs. Linda Krukar, the dog judge, was not so fortunate as she was due to arrive on Friday and her flight was cancelled, she booked a flight the following day only to have that one cancelled also.  She was so disappointed and wishes to thank all exhibitors for their entries.

As Tegwen Jones was due to judge the Club's 2011 Show he was asked to step in to which he agreed.

Margaret Downey awarded the Bitch CC to Milne & Williams' Leibwache Sunset Stripper (her 2nd), the Reserve Bitch CC to Ms. K. Maitland's Supetas Grace Kelly, Best Puppy Bitch to Smith & Bennett's Amazon Ice Ice Baby.

Tegwen Jones award the Dog CC to Smith, Bennett & Mycroft's Ch. & Lux. Ch. Supeta's Ozzy Osborne J.W. (his 13th I believe), the Reserve Dog CC to Locke & Ingram's Jojavik the Heist who was also Best Puppy Dog.

Mrs. Alma Page-Owen, was the Referee but was not required on the day. The two judges agreed to award Leibwache Sunset Stripper Best in Show (who incidentally is called "Ruby") with Ch. & Lux. Ch. Supeta's Ozzy Osborne J.W. Reserve Best in Show and Jojavik the Hesit Best Puppy in Show. They also agreed that Mrs. L. Schneiders; Furstklars Evolution as Best Veteran in Show.

I would like to send a BIG THANK YOU to the judges, committee, members and exhibitors for joining us on the day to celebrate the Club's 40th Anniversary and for those who couldn't make it but sent donations.

On behalf of the Welsh Dobermann Club, Mrs. Margaret Downey presented a cheque in the sum of £1,000 to Sue Garner, Treasurer of Dobermann Welfare, to assist this very needy cause.

June Piper
Hon. Secretary

Mr. Alan Mulholland, recently resigned as Vice-President of the Club and Mr. Richard Meredith, Vice President, presented an engraved plate to him on behalf of the Welsh Dobermann Club in appreciation of all the work he has undertaken for Dobermann Rescue and the Welsh Dobermann Club.

At the AGM the President, Mrs. Alma Page-Owen and Vice-President, Mr. Richard Meredith were re-elected and Mrs. Pauline Hart was proposed and elected as Vice-President. The committee remain the same as last year:- Mrs. June Piper, Hon. Secretary, Mrs. Brenda Evans, Hon. Treasurer, Mr. Alan Roberts, Chairman, Mr. Jon Crossley, Vice-Chairman, Mrs. Jackie Barnes, Show Manager, Mrs. Avril Stewart, Assistant Show Manager and Membership Secretary, Mrs. Linda Wilkes, DBC Representative, Mr. Steve Barnes and Mrs. Cynthia Crossley.

The Welsh Dobermann's Club  Dog of the Year was won by Quigley, Day & Piper's Swnydwr Supa Troopa who was also Best Puppy.  The award for most points gained at Open Shows was won by Tina Reid's Kitado Knight's Storm."

Many thanks.



Menu Show Menu